SAN ANTONIO, TX (Oct. 27, 2009) During the 2009 UMP DIRTcar Racing Super Late Model season, among 1,573 different drivers who earned points, it was a group of five VP-powered drivers who rose to the top.   Starting with Jason Feger, who enjoyed a career year and used VP113 racing fuel to win his first UMP DIRTcar national points championship and lead the circuit in feature wins.   Feger was followed by two-time defending national champ Dennis Erb Jr. who was powered by VP’s Late Model Plus.   Rusty Schlenk used VP113 to finish a career-best third in the national points, followed by two other drivers using Late Model Plus— two-time national champion Randy Korte and Steve Sheppard, Jr., who was second in feature wins in 2009 with 19. 

While Feger had the national crown clinched before even entering the points-season-ending UMP DIRTcar Nationals on Oct. 9-10 at Eldora Speedway, he earned every cent of the $20,000 championship check he'll receive at the 2009 UMP DIRTcar Racing Awards Banquet on Jan. 9, 2010 in Springfield, IL. He spent the second half of the season in a tight battle for the points lead with Erb, who saw his reign atop the organization's Super Late Model ranks end with a runner-up finish, 31 points (3,026-2,995) behind Feger.

Feger's 22 feature wins during the UMP DIRTcar points season (he added a 23rd sanctioned victory in an Oct. 11 event at Kankakee County Speedway after points ended) gave him a career-high total and put him at the top of the circuit's win list by three checkered flags over Sheppard's 19 scores.  

A total of 57 different engine builders were reported as winning UMP DIRTcar Super Late Model features in 2009, led by the 38 victories tallied by Bill Schlieper's Pro Power Racing Engines of Sullivan, WI.