BROWNSTOWN, IN (March 27, 2010) Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN dominated the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series sanctioned 13th Annual Indiana Icebreaker Saturday at Brownstown Speedway for his 14th career series win. Powered by VP’s Late Model Plus racing fuel, Owens led all 50 laps to take home the $10,000 winner’s check. 

Owens and first-time Brownstown visitor, Chris Wall started on the front row in front of a standing room only crowd.  Owens got the jump on the field at the drop of the green flag.  Earl Pearson took the second slot followed by Wall, Scott Bloomquist and Bart Hartman.

Owens quickly built his lead over the field as Pearson and Bloomquist battled for second.  Owens had a five-car length lead as the first caution appeared for a three-car pileup in turn two.  On the restart, Owens continued to show his prowess as he pulled away from the field. Bloomquist moved into second as Steve Casebolt climbed to third, just ahead of Pearson.

With 15 laps in the books Owens had a straightaway lead over Bloomquist and by Lap 17, picked up the tail end of the field. At the halfway mark, Owens was putting on a clinic has he developed a huge lead over the field with 20 laps remaining.  

From there, Owens went on cruise control going unchallenged to record his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of 2010.  Owens had previously won two open wheel modified features at Brownstown and took home his first ever Late Model win at the historic Jackson County Fairgrounds track.

In Victory Lane, Owens emerged in front of the cheering crowd to talk about his domination from start to finish.  “The car was great right of the box, we didn’t have to do anything to it, we put the right tire on, I want to thank Chris (Fox, his crew chief), I want to thank Mike Reece, Reece Monuments, Gantte Appraisals, VP Racing Fuels and all of our other sponsors.   We needed this win, we struggled at Bulls Gap and Cherokee, this crew we’ve have all been together since we started racing, it means a lot to win here and it was a good points night,” said Owens who climbed to second behind Bloomquist in the championship points standings.